Project Awesome

Making my life more awesome

Happy birthday to me…

on June 24, 2013

I was up at 5 this morning, watching The Grinch with Small Girl.  My children, obsessed with this film, will probably grow up remembering it as some kind of special family tradition and insist on us watching it every year at Christmas.  I *like* making new traditions; unfortunately I *don’t* like The Grinch (“The Grinch didn’t like it; he didn’t like it a lot”).  Sadly, I am destined to spend the rest of my life not just watching it but reminiscing about it.

The early start was also unfortunate as last night I watched the first Weeping Angels episode of Dr Who.  I’d fervently avoided it because I’m scared of everything, and everyone is scared by it, so it seemed logical.  Except I didn’t like having holes in the storyline, and a couple of people said it wasn’t that scary really, and I realised that nothing so far had really scared me.  And it wasn’t that scary really.  It was tense and their faces are pretty alarming just before they attack, but it was fine.  So it’s just coincidence that I was still awake at 2.30 am, right?

Tomorrow is my birthday.  I’m going to be 34.  I thought I’d look back to my posts from June 2012, as I could remember nothing about becoming 33.  Turns out I should be grateful.

It’s been a funny year.  Some things I expected to change haven’t: I did assume I’d be divorced by now, and my house is still a tip and I still haven’t made a meal plan.  But some things have changed which I didn’t expect: I am happier and leaving some of shittier parts of my life behind, just a little. I’m starting to get attached to going to Quaker meetings.  Small Girl is starting to sleep.  I’m happy being single and don’t really see room in my life for any relationships more significant than the ones I already have. I’m watching Dr Who.  That I would never have expected.

Traditionally, for me, birthdays are a time for setting goals, making plans, thinking about what I want from the next year.  But things have changed so far and so fast, that I’m just going to wait and see.

I’m hoping for less vomiting than last birthday though.

What do you think?

