Project Awesome

Making my life more awesome

Doctor in the house

on April 14, 2013

I didn’t watch Doctor Who as a child because it was TOO SCARY.  And then, despite my love of sci-fi and fantasy stuff, for some reason I never watched it when they made the new versions, probably thinking it would still be TOO SCARY.  I am easily frightened and I have nightmares – a few nights ago I woke up to find myself scrabbling at my bedroom wall gasping “help! help!” and believing I was being chased by rabbits, and the only cause I can think of is my daughters’ obsessive watching of ‘The Tale of Peter Rabbit’ over Easter.  So I am understandably cautious about what I watch.

However, at Christmas my sister made us all watch the Doctor Who Christmas special – set in Victorian London with animated and dangerous snowmen who appeared from nowhere, a cute and quirky doctor and an intelligent and independent assistant – I was hooked.  I waited impatiently for it to return to tv.  And that wasn’t enough, so this weekend I have binge-watched the first series, with Christopher Eccleston and Billie Piper, on Netflix.  Binge-watching Doctor Who while sewing appears to be my new favourite way to spend a weekend.  Oh, with an evening inventing appalling cocktails with a friend – I need to speak to other people at some point.

And I love it.  Doctor Who makes me believe: believe that anything can happen; that there is a universe of possibilities out there; that good will always win.  It gives me hope.  It makes me laugh. It makes me cry (that episode where she meets her dad? Bawling). I think I’m in love. But I’m not watching the one with the weeping angels.

What do you think?

