Project Awesome

Making my life more awesome

The world is ending? Really? Ok, if you say so…

on December 20, 2012

The world is due to end tomorrow, according to some sort of Mayan prophecy.  Or at least, that’s what Facebook tells me, and I have no reason to doubt Facebook.  Except that I think it’s quite unlikely the world is going to end.  And apparently the Mayan prophecy really just predicts the end of an era.  Perhaps a bit like throwing away one calendar on 31 December and putting up a new one?

In addition, tomorrow is the shortest day of the year. Here in the UK, anyway.  I hate the darkness of winter.  It makes me miserable. And tired.  It feels like there is no day, no time, nothing but darkness and coldness and rain.  Forever, until I die.

So I’ve decided: it may be a coincidence, but tomorrow for me is marking the start of a new (Mayan) epoch and a new (lighter) future.  I am moving out of the darkness into the light.  I’m going to start choosing to be positive again.

I am by nature a little bit sarcastic, humorously critical and self-deprecating (and I’m always willing to deprecate others if I think I’ll get away with it).  There’s something about endless positivity, unceasing optimism and too many exclamation marks which makes me want to kick people.  And I’m not sure that will ever really change.  Sometimes positive psychology feels like it leaves no room for legitimate grieving.  And I don’t want to let go of the joy of watching a really sad film and crying at it. I don’t want to suppress negative emotions or pretend I’m ok when I’m not.  But I think I can, mostly, choose to be happy or choose to be miserable. It doesn’t really feel like a very difficult decision.  Bring it on, Mayans, I’m going for a happiness epoch!

(Well, until around September, when I will be plunged into SAD-driven misery for a few more months…)

What do you think?

