Project Awesome

Making my life more awesome

A story in which very little happens. Really. Almost nothing at all.

on December 11, 2012

I should warn you, before we begin, that this story fails to deliver.  It is not as exciting as you might expect it to be.  Don’t think it’s going to be *that* interesting.

Expectations suitably lowered? Good…

I went out tonight, to see a couple of my friends performing a comedy sketch.  I was very excited – I love a good night out, and there was the prospect of cider, and I got my haircut so I looked vaguely presentable.  I was looking forward to seeing my friends, who are both very funny, being funny in public.

I did have, as expected, a great night out. And I met a boy.

(This, in case you haven’t guessed, is the part of the story which is not as exciting as you might think).

Literally, that’s it.  I met someone who my friends know.  He’s male.  I don’t know what his name is.  He seemed quite nice.  We chatted. I ascertained that he has done performance stuff in the past, but not recently.  He went home.  I got a bus.  That’s the end of the story.

I know.  It’s a pretty disappointing story.  Nothing happened, except I had a nice night out.  But I realised that maybe this is how you meet people.  You go out with people you know and you meet people you don’t know.  After my experience with Mr Huddersfield, talking to a man I don’t know and not being accused of being a power-crazed weirdo seems like a small success.

And it gives me just a little hope of future happiness, of possibility, a sense that one day my life might be different to how it is now.

I know, I’m very easily pleased.

 

What do you think?

