Project Awesome

Making my life more awesome

One child? What are you complaining about?

on August 5, 2012

I’d like to start by mentioning that I spent a lot of the first few months with one baby sitting by the changing mat crying or climbing the walls with boredom and was incapable of doing anything other than looking after the baby, and barely capable of doing that quite a lot of the time.  With that disclaimer in place, let’s move on.

So, it turns out that looking after just one child is easy.  Easy-peasy, in fact.  But boring.  I miss adult company and conversation. Now, it turns out, I miss two-year-old conversation.  I said Small Girl was starting to talk.  Not really. She does giggle though.  It’s a pleasure to spend time with such a delightful baby.

I am enjoying my time on my own with Small Girl.  We’ve been doing some playing.  She’s discovered Big Girl’s handbag and wears it constantly.  I think there will be trouble when Big Girl comes back next weekend.  Some things are not meant to be shared.  She’s also taken control of the toy buggy.  It’s a lot easier to do anything with just one child to watch, or get ready.  I wish I’d known, when I had only one child, how much easier it was than having two (although for half of Big Girl’s life pre-Small girl I was pregnant with Small Girl. Pregnancy and a toddler is something I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy).

But, although I’m not entirely missing that background sound of “Small Girl pinching me!”, “Small Girl snatching!”, “Small Girl trying to get me!”, and the accompanying sound of Small Girl crying, followed by the pattering of feet and “I didn’t push her” when I go to see why, I think we are both missing Big Girl.  She left with her father yesterday just after 10.  Small Girl has been a bit miserable and wanting more comfort today.  And I was fine until I read something in the newspaper about Wojdan Shaherkani, Saudi Arabia’s first female Olympic competitor, and cried for 5 minutes.  I care about gender equality, but probably not that much.

Only six days to go.

What do you think?

