Project Awesome

Making my life more awesome

This, my friends, is a triumph

on July 29, 2012

I wanted to write about my day out on Friday.  But I’m struggling.  Everything I write sounds banal.  There’s an overuse of the word ‘lovely’.  The thing is, I had a really good day out with my best friend in a beautiful city.  It was nice.  I was happy.  And that, my friends, is a triumph.  A little more than nine months after my husband left me in devastating circumstances, I spent our tenth wedding anniversary with someone other than my husband, and I had a good day.  Not despite everything.  Not holding back tears.  Not wishing I was with him. Just having a fabulous day.

And here’s what we did: we had brunch at Bettys – Eggs Benedict followed by cake, and we arrived just in time – we waited for a few minutes for a table in the beautiful light tea room, but by the time we left the queue was to the door.  We spent some time (and money) in the Oxfam bookshop.  We had coffee.  We had our nails done.  We did some shopping.  We had dinner at Jamie’s Italian.  I had a granita thing, which is a fancy slush puppy with alcohol.  I felt happy all day.  It was sunny. York was beautiful. People were friendly.  I was with my best friend.

We went on the York Wheel before getting the train home.  I’m not really scared of heights.  I’m scared of being high up on things made by people which could feasibly fall to bits.  Rollercoasters, areoplanes, swimming pool flumes. Most things in fact.  So I’ve always avoided these wheels, thinking I would be scared and hate them.

It turns out I was right.  I spent the whole journey holding my best friend’s hand and hoping we weren’t going to die, while she spent it talking calmly to me, like you do to someone looking a bit crazy and holding a sharp weapon.  We didn’t die, which I am putting down to good luck and not risking it again.  She says I should be proud of myself because I didn’t make them stop the wheel after the first time round.  I’m feeling lucky to have a best friend who can talk me through grief, terror and misery. And has promised we can do it all again next year.

Maybe not the wheel though.

2 responses to “This, my friends, is a triumph

  1. Myn says:

    I usually get terrified of the wheel until just before it stops, when I start to really enjoy the view. Glad you had a good day.

    • The wheel stopped at the top and that was actually ok. And then it started descending forwards, and suddenly I couldn’t see any of the structure of the wheel holding us up. Terrifying. Who comes up with these ridiculous inventions?

      But apart from that, it was a very good day.

What do you think?

