Project Awesome

Making my life more awesome

Paris 2013

on July 26, 2012

This is not exactly how tomorrow was supposed to go.  Just less than a year ago, Ex-Husband and I started talking about the possibility of leaving both children with my parents for a couple of nights.  I should be heading off to Paris to celebrate my tenth wedding anniversary.

But you know what? I’m actually not that fussed.

Really.

My parents are coming to look after Big Girl and Small Girl.  I am going to York.  My best friend and I are going to Betty’s.  We’re going to the York Cocoa House.  There’s an outside chance that we’ll do something that doesn’t involve eating. It is going to be an amazing day.

I wouldn’t have guessed it wouldn’t matter. I’m not, in any way, over the hurt, the anger, the sense of betrayal. I experience the loss again every time my children are away from me. But that’s the loss of my children. I hope to learn to live with it but I don’t think I’ll ever get over it. I still struggle with having a failed marriage, and the loss of the future and the family I anticipated.  But I think I’m over him. I quite like being single. Suddenly I can see a world of possibilities opening up.

I expect next summer Big Girl and Small Girl will both go on holiday with Ex-Husband. Perhaps I’ll go to Paris then…

 

5 responses to “Paris 2013

  1. Completely and utterly awesome. You really are fab! Enjoy Betty’s I highly recommend it x

  2. […] my life more awesome « Paris 2013 Jul […]

What do you think?

