Project Awesome

Making my life more awesome

So, apparently a sticker isn’t the answer to everything.

on July 19, 2012

Recently I took the sides off Big Girl’s cot, partly because Ex-Husband was getting her a bed at his new house, partly because I wanted to use one of the sides to help prevent Small Girl throwing herself over the end of the new bed I bought to replace the one Ex-Husband took away.  And, probably, partly because she’s my first child and I want her to do new things.  I knew that it could be one of those decisions I’d regret, and that I would have known I’d probably regret it while actually making it, and that I made anyway despite everything because I never listen to good advice, especially not from myself.

A week or so ago, I went into Big Girl’s room to see why she wasn’t asleep.  She had taken the mattress off her bed and added it to a pile of everything else in the room in order to climb onto the windowsill.  I was impressed by the innovation, less impressed by, well, everything else.  Another night, I heard the music on her baby monitor playing.  This surprised me as the baby monitor is on a chest of drawers and out of her reach.  It turns out that it is only out of reach as long as she doesn’t empty all the clothes out of the drawers, open them and use them as a ladder.  Tonight, I thought she was doing really well at staying in bed and playing or reading quietly, as requested.  Until I heard her shouting “hello cat” and discovered she’d again climbed on the windowsill, this time without the aid of her mattress.

I may be regretting the hasty removal of the cot sides.  I am thinking about putting them back on.

I have been trying stickers.  When she goes to bed, we talk about getting a sticker, and what she needs to get one: stay in bed, go to sleep, play quietly or read, and NO MESSING.  This has worked.  Sometimes.  Sometimes she stays in bed and goes to sleep.  Other nights… well, last night she stood at the stair gate across her bedroom doorway, shouting, crying and screaming that she didn’t want to go to sleep, until she woke Small Girl up.  She also claims that she wants to use the potty, although she doesn’t.  But how can you deny a toddler the opportunity to have a wee?

She’s two-and-a-half.  I’m not worried about her behaviour.  I just don’t know what to do about it.  Stickers aren’t working. She’s not sleeping.  Should I just put the side back on her bed and leave it until she’s older?

What do you think?

