Project Awesome

Making my life more awesome

Safeguarding

on May 26, 2012

Little Girl and I are in hospital again. We arrived at A&E around 9am and we’re still here.

20120526-152253.jpg
She’s broken her fibula. It could have happened at nursery. Or when she had a bit of a fall yesterday. Or possibly Big Girl has sat on her a bit too hard. I really don’t know how it happened.

So I’ve spent a while having a safeguarding interview with a registrar, who also examined Little Girl. There’s something surreal about watching someone prod your baby to check you haven’t hurt them.

Remember Baby P? Of course you do. They’re making sure it doesn’t happen again. I appreciate that but it’s frightening – that sense that my motives and my care for my children are being questioned. And the registrar at one point wrote that, as she didn’t seem to be in too much pain last night, I “didn’t take it seriously”. I had to argue for a while to get him to change it to “waited to see how she was this morning”, which is what I said. Who really suggests to a parent in a safeguarding interview that they didn’t take their child’s injury seriously?

There appears to be a question about whether small girl should stay in tonight. I’m not sure what the medical justification for this would be, but I have a toddler to look after and I co-sleep with Small Girl do I don’t intend to stay in without very good reason.

8 responses to “Safeguarding

  1. Arrrrr poor Small Girl, they heal very quickly so she will be better in no time at all xxx

  2. Danielle says:

    You poor thing. Waiting to see how it went is NOT ‘not taking it seriously. A trip to hospital the next day after a good nights sleep is much less stressful for ALL than a night time one for what might have been a minor injury. I had a hairline fracture in my arm when I was 4 and my parents “waited till morning”. I was fine and I am sure your bub will be too 🙂

    • She’s bored of having her leg in plaster and I think she’s still in pain but she seems to be ok. She’s getting frustrated at not being allowed to walk on it. And she’s a bit manky from not having a bath! I’m really hoping they don’t put it back in plaster tomorrow – Ex-Husband is coming to the fracture clinic too so it would be a test of our co-parenting skills when we had to choose the colour of the plaster.

  3. Merlin says:

    My thoughts are with you. Hope you’re OK.

    • I’m mostly ok. She seems to sleep better with a plaster on, which is a good thing, but it’s very stressful trying to watch her, and I feel even more worried about her hurting herself now, which isn’t good for any of us. And of course I’m still wondering, if it isn’t broken, what is wrong with it?

What do you think?

