Project Awesome

Making my life more awesome

Loving my new life…

on February 25, 2012

I promised to tell you what I am enjoying about my new life, so here you are:

Making decisions on my own. Having my own money. Starting to really enjoy being with my children on my own rather than just getting through it until Ex-Husband came home. Discovering quite how capable, strong and resourceful I am. Guilt-free mornings in bed with the paper every other Saturday. The chance in the future to discover what sort of person dating websites think I’ll be compatible with (I’ve always been curious). Having an attic and a cellar to myself. No-one nagging about the washing up or the pile of crap on the kitchen table. Not having to think about sex. Not having to think about Ex-Husband’s shifts except as far as it affects when he has the girls. Suddenly being the mature one in the relationship. Being able to put my foot down more over the girls where I think it matters. Finding things that I find exciting and which make me happy and planning to do them. Losing a stone and a half despite constantly eating chocolate. Picking up lots of friendships I’d just not had time for. Basking in everyone’s admiration at just how well I’m coping 🙂

What do you love about your life?

5 responses to “Loving my new life…

  1. Karen says:

    It is good when you realise you are actually happier on your own, isn’t it?
    I agree with all of the above and the fact that one person making the rules and disiplining the children is a much happier enviroment.
    AND having the whole bed to myself :o)
    Well done, you sound like you are doing great!

  2. I’m not sure I’d say I’m happier on my own. This isn’t what I’ve chosen and it isn’t what I want and I’m not sure it’s best for my children. But there are things I’m enjoying – and it’s definitely positive to be able to recognise them rather than just crying all day. As for having the whole bed to myself – last night was the first night in a long time that I didn’t find an 8-month-old in there with me at some point!

  3. Simon H says:

    Would you consider renting out your attic?

    Great to see all those positives you’ve listed, now you just have to keep adding to it!

  4. Merlin says:

    You just reminded me of “Sun Comes Up Its Tuesday Morning” by the COwboy Junkies. Had to post the link on my blog.
    It’s an art, to recognise the good in every day. To let go of the things you can’t control, and grasp those you can with both hands.

What do you think?

