Project Awesome

Making my life more awesome

Sew awesome

on February 18, 2012

So you’re probably wondering when I’m going to stop going on about crockery and trips to A&E and actually do something – achieve one of these goals I set for myself.  Well, I have.

My parents came over a couple of weeks ago and my mum helped me to set up my sewing machine (it used to be hers and she made us all clothes on it when we were little, and I do get a sense of satisfaction from using a sewing machine with a history).  She also brought me some fabric to play around with until I decided what I wanted to make.  I’ve got into using Pinterest – it’s a website where you can ‘pin’ things you find on the web that you like and other people can look at them.  And of course you can look at other people’s and ‘pin’ a load of their finds to your pinboards, and try to fool yourself into thinking you’ll ever make them.  It’s a good way to pass the time while breastfeeding.

So I found this lovely skirt here:

So I made my own:

My ex-husband had both girls for the day, so it was a race against time to get it finished. There isn’t a pattern as such – more a suggestion for how to make a skirt.  Things I have learnt: a pattern is probably useful; zips are tricky; I am awesome.  It’s not the most professional skirt ever and I am clearly not an expert seamstress.  But it’s totally wearable and it fits me and I made it.

My next project was going to be pyjamas. But then my best friend sent me Cath Kidson’s sew! book. It’s full of brilliant things to make: beanbags, cushions, bags, that sort of thing.  So, I’m going to make a bag.  And not just any bag…

My sister took me shopping yesterday.  We had so much fun.  I haven’t really had fun for a while.  We went into Jigsaw (which is more expensive that I realised) and seemed to convince the staff that I might buy a £98 skirt (I won’t). I discovered that one beneficial side-effect of being totally abandoned by my husband with two children under two is that I’ve gone down a couple of dress sizes.  I also rediscovered the joys of being able to try on clothes not in the maternity section.  We nearly ate sushi.  And we nearly got our ears pierced.  And my sister found me an amazing coat to replace my worn out old amazing coat.  My new coat is so amazing that I’m not going to post a picture of it until it arrives.  And I’m going to cut up my beautiful old worn out coat and make a bag from it. Pyjamas can wait.

So there you go.  I really am becoming awesome.

6 responses to “Sew awesome

  1. Simon H says:

    Well done you, most impressive.

    You must keep the old coat for work, otherise we won’t recognise you!

    • I can’t keep the coat. I have to cut it up and make a bag from it. And I’m SO excited about my new coat. I feel slightly embarrassed by how excited I am. It should be arriving on Tuesday so then I’ll know if it’s quite amazing as I think. And then I will wear it at all times, even in the bath and when I am asleep.

  2. Ruth edson says:

    Well done, your new skirt looks fab! I want to make things again too. Looking forward to seeing your coat and black and white flower bag!

  3. Rach says:

    Love it! I have a book of bag patterns. Can we discuss over skype? You are inspiring me to get the sewing machine out.

  4. I love knowing so many creative people. One of the positive things about being single is having my free time for just me, to do what I want. Obviously the downside is having much less free time…

  5. Go girl go!!! I love your skirt and your positive outlook 🙂 Thank you for reading my blog too. Avis x

What do you think?

