Project Awesome

Making my life more awesome

Transitional crockery

on February 16, 2012

I’m trying to adjust to being single and get used to making decisions on my own. So I’ve been making a few changes around the house to make it feel more like mine. I’ve taken down all the pictures of us and things from our marriage. I’ve bought some nice cushions for the lounge. Little things to make my house how I want it, without having to wave a paintbrush around. And I bought some new crockery.

A few years ago we went out to Indonesia to visit my best friend, who lived there for 3 years. As a souvenir, slightly unusually, we brought an 8-place-setting dinner service back in our luggage, with surprisingly few breakages.

The dinner service was nice but not the one I’d wanted – Ex-Husband’s choice. So I decided to replace it and headed off to Wilkinson’s, home of quality and value. As long as you’re not too fussy about quality.

I am known for liking bright spots – Mr Tumble would feel at home – and did find a spotty dinner set. But I wondered whether I should try something a bit different, if I’m trying to work out who I am and what I like. And then I saw this:

20120216-093139.jpg

It’s spotty, so that’s good. But it’s grey, so that’s different, right? I bought it and felt very proud of myself. But now, every time I look at it I see spots with the joy taken out of them, a bit drab and a bit depressing – a metaphor for my life, perhaps?

So I’m thinking this is transitional crockery – it’ll do for a time and then I’ll replace it with something a bit brighter, reflecting my new and awesome life. Expect to see a couple of dinner services on eBay this time next year.

3 responses to “Transitional crockery

  1. L Proud says:

    Grey doesn’t have to be drab and depressing. It goes with everything and can be seen as silver and full of life lines rather than something in between and a sign of an unsettled period in life. 🙂

    • That’s true. Maybe I’m trying to work out if this could be a move to a more mature approach to life, where I can appreciate silver and grey, rather than just go for bright and gaudy? I’m going clothes shopping tomorrow with my sister to buy post-maternity clothes and hopefully feel like I have a bit more of a style and identity. We’ll see how mature I come out looking!

  2. Rach says:

    I like grey. But then I also like rain. It makes me feel nostalgic. And I like black and white pictures. Doesn’t mean I don’t like garish colours too. I hope you enjoy your grey plates. Put colourful food on them and then you get the best of both worlds. Looking forward to seeing the stylish new look. Hope it’s not too mature!

What do you think?

