Project Awesome

Making my life more awesome

Hey, it may be wonky and too small, but at least I made something.

on September 18, 2012

I have finally done some more sewing, as I said I would. I used this tutorial to make this dress for Small Girl:

20120918-134444.jpg

It isn’t very good.  The material around the armholes is ruched up badly and the hem is wonky. And I’m fairly sure it won’t actually fit her, so I’ll try to give it to someone with a smaller baby who will have to pretend to be delighted.  I also love how suitable the colour is for a toddler, and that the style and fabric is so suitable for autumn in the UK.

But, nevertheless, I have made something. And I’ve learnt a few things.  Firstly, I like sewing. I don’t like making patterns.  Easy enough, I’ll stop making things where you have to draw your own pattern, which may lead to fewer wonky hems.  I’ve also realised that I’m not very good at cutting out – the two halves of the dress weren’t actually the same size, even though they were cut with the same pattern. This is just because I’m slapdash. So next time, I’m going to try to take more care. It really is that simple.  And I remembered how much I enjoy sewing – the feel of something coming together, and having a finished item at the end.  I’m going to make the most of it, before my girls realise they don’t have to wear what I’ve made, that there’s a difference between ‘uneven’ and ‘asymmetric’ when it comes to hems. I don’t think I’ve got long.

3 responses to “Hey, it may be wonky and too small, but at least I made something.

  1. Myn says:

    Yep, I too was amazed to find out how much difference it made if you cut things out accurately instead of close enough. Also, why did no one ever tell me that the sewing machine foot is designed to be the same width as the seam allowance, so if your fabric lines up with the edge of the foot, the needle is in exactly the right place to sew the seam where the pattern says it should be?

    • I’m not sure, really, if I’m actually not very good at cutting out or if I just don’t really try. I’m planning to make something else this weekend so I might try really hard to cut out the pattern pieces accurately and see what happens. Also, I have tidied my kitchen table so I have space to lay fabric out and cut it out flat all in one go, so that might work better. Do you always wash the fabric before using it? I keep reading that you should but not bothering (as that would require forward planning).

      • Myn says:

        I have never washed a piece of fabric before using it in my life. Sometimes, I admit, the first time I wash what i made, it shrinks. Sometimes not. But I still keep winging it anyway. Although, I’m seriously considering putting my new trousers on the dry clean only list because I would cry if they shrank.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

